Personal

Almost Gone

I had a lot on my mind.

I put away my earphones to have that conversation in my head. Dinner was just a road crossing away. The red man was on so I waited. I felt a buzz in my pocket. I started replying.

Mid-way through the text, I had a sudden thought – did I have enough cash to pay for dinner?

I reached for my wallet, and was about to get a glance of my notes when I heard a Chinese lady shouting at me from a distance.

Before I got to fully turn my head I was stunned by glaring orange headlights that were coming at me. 

I was in the middle of the road.

The silhouette of the yellow car against the backdrop of the night became focused. The blaring of vehicles came on like a switch.

I jumped onto the next lane where a double decked bus was approaching and was only metres away.

When I made it across, I got stared at by an onlooker and could still hear the lady’s nagging. She sounded distressed and from her tone, I guessed she was scolding me. I was confused.

I think I began unconsciously walking when I started using my phone, and stopped when I reached for my wallet. 

This has never happened. And I rarely text and walk. 

I did had a lot on my mind.

Standard

Leave a comment